Tomorrow is December? How did that happen

Standard

Sitting at our local coffee shop this morning it suddenly hit me, tomorrow is December 1, start of our Christmas traditions and I am not ready. Not even in the slightest!

1st of December is our ‘putting up the tree and decorating it and the loungeroom and the outside trees to within an inch of its life’ day. Christmas carols blasting, singing loudly and laughing, frustration of untangling the lights before the kids try put them on the tree, creation of my Tinsel Monsters as the kids wrap themselves up in it and try scaring me, champas for Mum and Dad, lemonade for the kids…..and photos of it all, lots of photos.

Christmas is such a special time to celebrate and reflect on life, family, faith and where has the time gone this year. Photos help me so much. Though I don’t scrapbook in the traditional sense as much now, at Christmas I do. It gives me a timeline to compare photos from previous years, how much has changed and how much stays the same. It is a time I feel especially connected to our world.

More and more, I make our Christmas presents. They may not be the biggest, best and flashiest of gifts but the truly come from us, not a last minute crazy rush throwing money at a cashier just to get ‘something’ for this person or that. I use to worry that handmade gifts was like me seeming to cheap to spend money on someone. Maybe it is age, but I don’t feel like that so much anymore. I have begun to respect myself as a creative soul and that has value beyond any paycheck for me. It has been a long time coming to this point. I feel like I am standing on a cliff edge here. One more step and I maybe I will fly and let my creative soul soar OR I will fall with my creative dreams in tatters and ego bruised. Anyone else felt like this?

Like I said, Christmas is a time of reflection for me, how about you?

I hope you managed to follow my ramblings and tangents in this blog. My writing, like my art, starts at one point and takes the scenic route to the end place which is more often than not, not where I was intending to go.

Cheers from one Rambling Mixed Media Blogging Artist.
BTW, I am going to post this before I chicken out of revealing too much of what goes on in my head…..

4 responses »

  1. Yes, that cliff gets higher every time I stand there too. I’ve started thinking my art is for myself – I don’t rush to share it anymore – I post on my blog and that’s enough for me.

    • Your work is wonderful and I am glad you share it on your blog.
      Taking that step off the cliff edge feels so risky and makes me feel very vulnerable. I wonder each time if I just glide in creative freedom or crash mercilessly onto the jagged rocks below.

Leave a Reply

